Saturday, April 15, 2006

Way of the Cross

Stations of the Cross, is used to signify either a series of pictures or tableaux representing certain scenes in the Passion of Christ, each corresponding to a particular incident, or the special form of devotion connected with such representations.

Stations may be of stone, wood, or metal, sculptured or carved, or they may be merely paintings or engravings. They are usually arranged at intervals around the walls of a church, though sometimes they are to be found in the open air.

There are 14 stations,
1. Christ condemned to death;
2. the cross is laid upon him;
3. His first fall;
4. He meets His Blessed Mother;
5. Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross;
6. Christ's face is wiped by Veronica;
7. His second fall;
8. He meets the women of Jerusalem;
9. His third fall;
10. He is stripped of His garments;
11. His crucifixion;
12. His death on the cross;
13. His body is taken down from the cross; and
14. laid in the tomb.

The object of the Stations is to help the faithful to make in spirit, as it were, a pilgrimage to the main scenes of Christ's sufferings and death.

Talking about passion of christ, something which comes to my mind is Pietà by Michelangelo. This famous work of art depicts the body of Jesus in the arms of his mother Mary after the Crucifixion. Its a marble sculpture in St. Peter's Basilica in Rome. Below is the photo of that sculpture.


Alexis Leon said...

Nice post and nice picture. Very informative.

silverine said...

If you ever go to Ooty visit the Kendal Shrine. It has the stations on the hills.

Me said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Me said...

I just discovered your post and I am hooked! It's quite funny and reflective. I thought the 'You know Your Malayalee' post was hillarious

Sarah said...

attending the good friday church in Chengannur with my grandmother was a nightmare.. we leave for the church at 7 in the morning.Empty stomach..the walk to church is almost 40 mints..Ammachi vanam vittathu pole still trying to walk fast. Finally the service..standing all the time. heat, hunger and the first time when they passed the bitter juice at the end of the service, i was so thirsty and took a BIG gulp..No one forewarned me tht it is bitter. I was under the impression that, it is just water..I couldn't spit it out as ammachi was staring at me...i couldn't it was tht bitter..finally I DID(had to) swallow.

Me said...

Hey monu,
So i have been trying to figure it out but am quite clueless as to what
"noolamalakal" mean.
Nool = threaD??
Malalkal = moutain
Help please.